AS WE LAY

I remember vividly that day so very well.

I first visited your church, your cologne I could smell.

Recently broke up with ex, my soul needed a break.

Yet when you fist crossed my path, my heart was for the take.

You said all the perfect things that I needed to hear.

How you’re waiting on a wife, you even shed a tear.

I fell for your every word and even dropped my guard.

“Could this be my answered prayer?”  I prayed this to my Lord.

But there are a couple things that makes me scratch my head.

How can you be my pastor, yet always in my bed?

How did I fall in this game?  I dare not think or say.

Crying silent tears at night in my bed, as we lay.

From that day you approached me, with bible in your hand.

Praying for my past hurt scars, I trust you as a man.

Never did I think one time that you where playing a game.

Until on that faithful night when I was put to shame.

Your phone rang so many times, yet you were sound asleep.

After it rang several times I quickly took a peek.

Shocked at text message I read, it said, “Baby, come home.”

“Kids are fast asleep in bed, your wife is all alone.”

Now that my hearts into you, how do I leave this mess?

God, I need your strength right now to help me out this test.

How did I fall in this game?  I dare not think or say.

Crying silent tears at night in my bed, as we lay.

By:  Larry Nelson

Leave a Reply

