GETTING CLOSER TO GOD!

As I review my life, I am convince that there is much more I can do to please God.  I know I’ll stand before Him on Judgment Day and give account to my creative writing gift.  I’ll show Him I turned poetry into books and novels.  Hopefully some movies before I leave Earth.  I think I have that part taken care of .  But I know there’s much more I can do.

Witnessing:  I rarely ever do that.  That’s something I need to incorporate to people I run across from my book signings to strangers on the street.  Even if its a bible tract, I should tell them about the goodness of my God, and His name is Jesus!

Work in the church:  Yeah, I’ve got that on lock!  Well, when I do go, I am constantly working in the church.  It’s a pleasure to work in the ministry.  You get a chance to chat with the busy pastor, mingle with the saints more and more.  Many things you can do and say when you’re working in the ministry.  When I’m there, I’ll give myself an “A” .

Conversations:  I’m not worldly when I talk to people.  I can crack a joke or two for laughter, but not a drunk sailor sounding person.  But I can improve.  The bible says, Let your LIGHT shine….., so even in my small conversations, I’ve got to allow God to shine in that as well.  I’ll give myself a “C” in that.

Getting Along With Everyone….  I have a very friendly personality, but I also can cut a person off as if they never existed if they cross me the wrong way.  That’s NOT Godly.  In fact, if I do not be careful, God can see that as hatred.  I don’t have any enemies.  Too old for that.  Well, there’s this one guy that almost got me killed in Mississippi and he even robbed me of my clothes while in Gulfport.  I don’t hate him, but have no desire to see him.  Sad thing is my mother has him over her house and told me I could never understand her heart for him.  Wow, a mother’s love.  Then a sister at my church set me up with a rumor and lie to my pastor.  At first I wanted her to choke on her vomit, but I don’t hate her.  Just realize that after I began writing books, people began seeing me as $pecial, if you know what I mean.  I have ZERO contact with her and when I go back to church next year, I want to have a “clean heart” and zero hate.  In this category, I’ll give myself a “C”.

Prayer Life…….  I can do better.  I go through spurts.  Sometimes, I’m a prayer warrior.  Then there are times I only pray over my food.  I’ve got to do better towards God in this area.  He’s been too good to me!  I’ll give myself a “C-“

There are many other areas I can name but chose not to.  But I’ve got to improve if I want to become closer with God and be a better man. 

May God have mercy and grace over my life,

Until next time bloggers….

Larry Nelson

One thought on “GETTING CLOSER TO GOD!

  1. Before Jesus Christ died on the Cross, man kind could not atone for his own sin, nothing he could do or sacrifice could make him pleasing to God. Then Jesus came, because he loved the creation, took our place and died once and for all for our sins. All of our wrongs, all our short comings,all of our weaknesses went on the cross and now he stands before God in our behalf and NOW God is pleased. So why do we strive to do good to please Almighty God? Is there anything we can do that can trump what His Son has already done? Yet His ways and instruction are written and we are encouraged to follow them. Why? SO that our lives line up with The Act of his Son, that we may have life and life more abundantly. THAT WE MAY LOVE THE LORD AND LOVE OUR NEIGHBOR AS OURSELVES. The work that we do, the witnessing that we share, the prayer, the conversations and how well we manage our relationships based on his principles are for us, it is to your benefit to do them well, he designed it for you to be enriched and be a vessel of His light, Jesus Christ. HE IS ALREADY PLEASED WITH YOU BECAUSE JESUS IN WHOM YOU BELIEVE HAS ATONED FOR YOU. Keep striving to line up.God bless your walk with more wisdom of his word. GOD bless you with knowledge and instruction. God bless your understanding of his word. God bless you when you read and pray. God bless you with wise instructors and teachers of his word. God bless you with time and desire to read and study his word. May he impress it on your heart to know him greater everyday, to know his grace, to know his mercy.God bless you To know his plan and will for you. May you encounter a healing in your heart and a renewing in your mind from past hurtful experiences and misinstruction and false teaching. May you know Truth in its entirety and live and move in freedom. God bless you abundantly with skill and performance of the pen that you may be a blesding to others through your testimony, and loving desire for people to find love and trust in relationships. God bless you Larry Nelson

Leave a Reply

