SILENCE IS GOLDEN!!!

I love to study, read and observe.  I’m actually doing a writing now on the subject of being silent.  I’ve got a few people that their mouths have blessed them or put them under a curse.  Here are just a few…..

Muhammad Ali during his boxing days had what my mother calls, “the biggest mouth on the planet!”  Yes, he backed it up, but as she said, there were blacks watching his fights just to see him lose because he talked and bragged so much.  Well, he use to call himself “The Greatest Boxer of All Time”.  I notice something about that.  So long as he touted his own horn, he was a great boxer indeed, but loved AND hated by many in the boxing arena.  But when he got so sick with Parkinson’s Disease to the point where he cannot talk at all, now the World calls him The Greatest Ever!  Why did his silence cause the entire world to respect and revere him as one of the greatest boxers and most popular people on the planet?  If I’m wrong, name another person more popular than Muhammad Ali on this earth?  (Michael is no longer here.)

I notice an interview from George Daniels, who owns George’s Music Room in Chicago.  He said Kanye West was so quiet back in the days, you wouldn’t even know he was in the room or know who he was.  Just very quiet.  Now, he’s running on stage taking microphones from Taylor Swift, getting Kim Kardashian pregnant and being a plump fool with his antics and mouth.  He’s now viewed as an idiot because of his mouth.   Yes, he’s still talented, but his mouth is a world of iniquity.  He once got on television and said, GEORGE BUSH HATES BLACK PEOPLE!  Wow, I almost flipped when I saw that.  Quiet boy from Chicago has opened his mouth!

Dr. Dre is considered to be the greatest producer of All Time.  He is the man who discovered Snoop Doggy Dogg, Ice Cube, The D.O.C., Eminem and most notably 50 Cent.  But if you look at his early interviews from the late 80’s and early 90’s, he talked with stupidity and ignorance.  Sure, it didn’t diminish his talents, but it made him look ghetto and downright stupid.  Well, someone must have told him this:  “Yo Dre, you’re a boss, you don’t need to do interviews and talk about anything.  Let your talent speak for you.”  I guess he followed suit.  He completely stop doing interviews for about 7 to 10 yrs, and now he is almost looked at as a god in rap music.  He’s the only person that can release an album after 12 yrs and millions of people would buy it.  Why?  Because of his silence, he’s viewed as a mythical type of person.  I wonder what his life would be like had he kept doing silly interviews?

I could go on and on about how the tongue can make you or break you.  I do know that silence is golden and can bless you in the long run.  My goal in life is to be QUICK to hear, SLOW to speak as the bible says and be the best Larry Nelson I can be. 

My mother use to tell me that it’s not the big mouth in the fight you have to watch.  Its that one that’s not saying a word you have to be careful with.  He’s the deadly one because you do not know what’s on his mind. 

I pray to bridle my tongue in every area of my life.

Until next time bloggers,

Larry Nelson

6 thoughts on “SILENCE IS GOLDEN!!!

  1. Snap snap snap snap snap snap snap snap
    (This is what is done after a spoken word…clapping is too loud for the mellow, thought provoking event, so people just slightly raise their hand or hands and snap there fingers)
    Snap snap snap snap snap snap snap snap
    (Your thoughts are appreciated)

  2. Wow I wish you would put this on a billboard. It’s soooo true. It has crossed my mind several times over the years to go on a speaking fast not only to others but to myself. I have always been quiet and pretty shy but the words and thoughts swirling around in my head have been an ongoing tsunami. Living in this day and age you have to fight to silence like a sacred piece of bread. Everywhere you turn there is noise. People feel they have to get louder and louder to be heard above it all. Then when you get to yourself you have your own thoughts which never seem to stop. I wonder how much I would accomplish if I could effectively silence myself. Maybe the complaining that I am not hearing from God would cease when I could actually listen. When you think about it if you had a room with 100 people and 99 were talking and 1 was silent which one would be the most noticeable?

Leave a Reply

