ONE WISH

If I had one wish, I’d wish to be popular

People see me say, “There’s no stoppin’ him!”

Everywhere I go, they’re screaming my name

When I travel overseas, the reactions the same.

When I shop at the mall, a huge crowd surrounds me,

In every place I go, a flashbulb hits me.

My doorbell keeps buzzing like a T.V. sequel

My dog stopped barking because he’s use to people.

Most people would hate all the attention that comes

With taking on the roll of being number one.

But my life is barren like an empty dish

So if I had the chance, this would be my wish.

My pastor would call and say, “I’ll see you at 5:00

At this point in my life, I feel i’ve arrived.

The brothers at church would call me up for advice

The sisters would fantasize of throwing the rice.

Moses was known for his rod and staff

But I will be famous for my autograph.

People at church now introduce me as “Friend”

I pray to God this fantasy never end.

Most people would hate all the attention that comes

With taking on the role of being Number One

But my life is barren like an empty dish

So if I had the chance, this would be my wish.

By:  Larry Nelson

This poem and others are compiled in my book:  For Virtuous Women Only.

To order book, please send a $10 dollar money order, plus $1 dollar shipping to:

Larry Nelson

P.O.Box 171

Belleville, Illinois

62222

God bless you all and please keep me in your prayers!

Until next time…..

Leave a Reply

